Seeing as i love Alfred Hitchcock and his films i wanted to find a link between anthropomorphism and his films. I didn’t think that this was no way possible, but with a lot of research i managed to find bits upon anthropomorphism in Alfred Hitchcock films especially psycho.

Hitchcock was fascinated by inanimate objects of which suggest life, however it seems that within his films he implied death rather than life within the inanimate objects. An example of this occurs with the bread knife shown in “Psycho” (1960). The knife showed that it had some kind of symbolic power even though it is an inamniate object, it was also showing that it was going to end a life therefore the knife represented death. There are many anthropomorphism elements in Hitchcock films, considerably seen more from the interiors which are filled with paintings and sculptures. Such as the large stuffed bird in Psycho that is seen appearing over the shoulder of Norman Bates. Not only do we see anthropomorphism in inanimate objects within his films but we also sees it in the house that appears in Psycho, the house itself has creepy and uneasy characteristics to it.

Another occurrence of this appears in the film “The Amityville Horror” (Rosenberg – 1979), the house seems as though it has some symbolic power, the house almost makes the audience feel petrified and tense just by looking at it.

Hitchcock clearly showed anthropomorphism within all these objects by only using tense music and camera angles to connect his film with the audience.

“There is no terror in a bang, only the anticipation of it” – Alfred Hitchcock

This quote above really caught my eye whilst researching as shall bear in my mind whilst creating my project.

Researching all this lead me to finalise my idea for my project. I had to and just wanted to create a film containing anthropomorphism. Learning that there is so much more to this topic that meets the eye, I just wanted the challenge to try and convey all the different meanings and elements behind a film containing anthropomorphism.

A massive challenge is ahead of me, and I’m ready!

