The Target audience that i have decided to do my animation for is 1-11 year olds as in my opinion i think that when children get to the age of 12 they want to act cool in front of their friends and act grown-up, as i have seen this for myself with my 13-year-old niece…. They grow up too fast!!!!!

Now i know what i want to do i guess it’s now time i research into children television programmes. However as i watch them plenty of times with my nieces and nephews i kind of knew what i was going to expect. Today i went round my Sisters house and watched some programmes on CBEEBIES with my 2-year-old nephew just to give me an idea of what kind of things catched children’s eyes and what makes them get involved and looked more at the television when a programme is on, However i know that some young children have short attention spans so my aim for my short animation is to get the children to look at the television and be mesmerised but what they see. So i guess i had to research into short attention span and easily distracted children, here is some useful websites that i found that helped me increase my knowledge of this situation:

By reading on these websites i realise it is hard to make a child with a short attention span to focus on one thing. But i learnt something new today!!!

After watching the CEBEEBIES programmes with my 2-year-old nephew i wanted to go into more detail of how they produce and show education in their programms to make them more and more fun for young children. I researched a lot of programs from the present day to the past. I borrowed A LOT of DVD’s from my sisters as they have children from the age of 1-14. I looked at programs such as:

  • Dora the Explorer
  • The little Einsteins
  • The Bear in the big blue house
  • Mickey Mouse
  • Number Jacks
  • Mr Tumble
  • The Teletubies
  • Waybuloo
  • Rastamouse

There was so many that i watched. I also recorded a load on my sky box so i could analyse them into more depth. I just really wanted to understand the conventions of a educational children’s programme, so i decided to write down everything that i thought was in the majority of the program’s that i researched, here’s my brainstorm:

I also went into a lot of detail and asked my 5 year old niece to tell me what she had learnt from watching several different programs and Dora the explora was the most educational as i asked her to count to 5 in spanish and she did. So it proves that the educational programmes do work and do kids justice, (i just hope my can be a success).

Here are some posters of the main programmes that i researched into:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I decided to look on the children’s websites to see the colour pallet etc that they use to grab a child’s attention. Looking at these websites really helped me decide what kind of colours that i wanted to add to my animation etc. There websites also show education by getting children to play fun games and be learning at the same time. I LOVE THIS IDEA. So my challenge is to mae children learn by watching my animation but learn at the same time. However i only have 60 Seconds to do this, which is defiantly a challenge. Here are a few websites that i came across whilst researching , these websites age from toddler to teenage ages i just think it’s really good how they manage to make it all look fun with games etc:

They even have theme park attractions based on some of the programmes,(Its making me want to go!!!!)

I also came across this website which i think was cool as it tells children some facts about life and meaning to words.

So researching more into depth has given me some very good ideas.

